May 2016

May 3, 2016
The Class of 2018 demonstrated their newly acquired engineering and materials processing skills in Laboratory I by melting, slumping and decorating glass plates to form several small but beautiful consumer products.  These two tea lights and a vase were among the productive outcomes of the laboratory course instructed by Professor Riman. This particular laboratory session introduced the students to the glass transition, temperture/time/viscosity relationships, and the application of thermally matched enamel coatings, as well as the methods by which automotive windshields are made.

April 2016

April 27, 2016
Dr. Lisa Klein  was named a fellow of the Society of Glass Technology, formed in 1916 as an organization of people interested in glass that responds to the needs of industry and academia. Each nomination is put forward by three fellows in the society, which has members in more than 50 countries.

March 2016

March 7, 2016
AnnualMtg16--Program-Promo Flyer_3.pdf

February 2016

February 26, 2016
MSE Senior Amanda Chin presented in the Interns Presentation . Amanda was 1 of 10 students selected to compete, her presentation was about her internship last summer at TerraCycle. The presentation about her experience was shared to a panel of judges, faculty,  and staff. Amanda won 3rd place and won an i-pad  Mini. Congrats Amanda !!!! 
February 4, 2016
Congratulations to Ambar Deshkar on receiving the 2016 Roy G. Post Foundation Scholarship. Ambar Deshkar is a graduate student in the research group of Professor Ashutosh Goel. His research is focused on understanding crystallization behavior of sodium and alumina rich high level nuclear waste glasses. The Roy G. Post Foundation is a non-profit organization that provides scholarships to students to develop careers in the safe management of nuclear materials and to participate in the Waste Management Symposium.

December 2015

December 7, 2015

November 2015

November 30, 2015
  Each year, following a rigorous evaluation procedure, the IEEE Fellow Committee recommends a select group of recipients for elevation to IEEE Fellow. Less than 0.1% of voting members are selected annually for this member grade elevation.  It is our great pleasure to inform you that the IEEE Board of Directors, at its November 2015 meeting, elevated Dr. Feldman to IEEE Fellow, effective 1 January 2016, "for contributions to semiconductor-dielectric interfaces for MOS technologies."
November 19, 2015
November 19, 2015 -- A new Renishaw Raman spectrometer has been added to the growing list of MSE characterization equipment.  This new unit, which will add fast Raman imaging capabilities and a thermal stage for in situ Raman analysis to 1500 C, will supplement our current unit.  In addition to the enhanced capabilities, the presence of two units in the departent will give greater access to this increasingly essential analytical tool.  The unit arrived and was installed this week in a newly renovated laboratory, CCR-209.
November 10, 2015
November 10, 2015 -- Professor Deirdre O’Carroll has won the prestigious NSF CAREER grant, announced today by NSF.  Professor O’Carroll’s project is entitled "Nanophotonic Radiative Decay Rate Engineering for Stable Blue Organic Phosphorescence," and is funded with $490,380 from NSF beginning June 1 , 2016 and ending May 31, 2021.  Congratulations to Deirdre on winning this very competitive award!!